Moyola Park tasted defeat for the first time in Championship Two this season in their tenth outing.

The visitors were the much better of the two sides, getting off to a good start when Jaime Gardiner took advantage of good work by Scott McCordick down the right wing to slot the ball past Marty Rea into the Moyola Park net in the game’s opening minute.

McCordick hit the crossbar in a long range effort and hit an upright before he took advantage of a spilled ball by Rea to double Annagh United’s advantage on 19 minutes.

Eugene Gallagher struck a long range effort which Ciaran Fox held before Chris Dowie rattled the back of the Annagh net after 25 minutes taking advantage of a cross by Craig McAllister from the edge of the penalty area.

Two minutes later Gareth Stewart fouled McCordick in the Moyola Park penalty area and Shea Campbell dispatched the resultant penalty kick past Rea into the home side’s net. There was worse to come for Moyola Park before the halftime break when McCordick lobbed Rea to give the visitors a 4 -1 lead.

Dowie pulled a goal back for Moyola Park on 54 minutes when following a mix up in the United defence he chipped the ball past Fox. However this was as good as it got for the home side. Campbell doubled his tally on the hour mark and Steven Park took the visitors tally to six with barely 20 minutes left on the clock. Central defender Stephen Acheson notched the visitors’ seventh goal in the 78th minute to round off a miserable day for the league leaders. Curtis Hassan was unfortunate not to add a third goal for Moyola Park when he rattled the Annagh United crossbar in time added on.

Moyola Park will need to regroup before travelling to Lurgan Celtic next week. The latter side remain in second place three points behind Moyola, but with a game in hand, following a 2-2 draw with Tobermore United. It will take a much improved performance from Mervyn Pattison’s men to add to their points tally in Lurgan.

Moyola Park: Marty Rea, Craig McAllister, Gareth Stewart (Curtis Hassan 66), Conal Kilpatrick, Mark Waddell, Diarmuid Larkin, Jason Paul, Eugene Gallagher, Chris Dowie, David Paul (Michael Walsh 53), Darren Walls (Robert Lucas 59) Subs not used: Maurice Curtis, Sean McCabe

Annagh United: Ciaran Fox, Jordan Bell, Brian Mallon, Stephen Acheson, Richard Allen, Philip Craig, Matthew Craig (Matthew Paget), Matthew Brown, Steven Park (Paul Stretton 87), Shea Campbell, Scott McCordick, Jaime Gardiner Subs not used: Shea Skelton, Francis McCann, Adam Nesbitt